1968 Jaguar XKE Series 1.5 E Type

Hey guys, thanks for the add, I’m brand new to the Jag community but I’ve always wanted one.
I’ve found a beautiful classic Jag, but I have no experience in previous ownership. Any and all advice would be greatly appreciated, the car is up for auction. You can see her here. Thanks again!

1 Like

Hi Richard

Oil pressure gauge may have been intentionally disconnected to hide a low oil pressure problem.
No air filter for many miles is not good for the engine

If it were me considering to buy the car, I would not buy it without having a significant budget (ie many tens of thousands) after the purchase to sort out problems. It could be you buy it and find out the engine needs a rebuild along with other needed work.

Dennis
69 OTS same colour as this one!

1 Like

Welcome to the loony bin!

If you take nothing else away from this group, take this piece of advice away: DO NOT purchase any E-Type until it is inspected by someone who knows them very well, otherwise you can end up with with what is known as a “fright pig.”

If it was driven for a lot of miles without effective air filtration, there’s a high likelihood that there’s some extreme wear on the cylinder bores.

1 Like

Welcome Richard, you should buy what you want but spend extra time, money, and effort to make sure it’s what you want.

The example above looks great from 20 ft but up close and underneath it’s completely unloved. It’s priced like a nice driver but the buyer will get it home to find out why nobody is driving it. Plan on fixing everything. The engine and the rust just to start

2 Likes