1977 Daimler Double Six vanden plas wont start

Hello everyone, im a mechanic and im from Switzerland.

I have a 1987 Daimler double six in my garage, the Car was driving perfectly but suddenly the engine stop running and the car wont start. So i have checked the temperature sensors the fuel pressure its all ok. When the cold start valves are priming the car start but stop right away. The injector valves wont work. has everyone an idea? thanks Michael

Welcome to the forum Michael!

If it has the original LUCAS OPUS ignition system, I would start there. It is well known to be unreliable after all these years. It typically tends to run while the ignition system is cool but cuts out when it gets warm.

If it does turn out to be the ignition, there are very elegant ignition upgrades available from Lumenition and Pertronix. My own E-type V12 is running on Lumenition which even has a distributor install kit for the old OPUS distributor.

i have no pulse on the injectors

With an '87 I’m presuming it’s a Lucas CEI. And I’m presuming you have spark, since you’re a mechanic and would check that first.

I’m gonna go farther and presume that the Daimler has the same little coax wire that the XJ-S has. So, follow me on this: The ignition amp is a black box on top of the LH intake manifold and it says AB14 on it. From that box, there are wires that go to the coil, wires that go to the distributor, and two wires that go rearward toward the firewall. The two going toward the firewall are blue/white/gray and both end in bullet connectors, but one is a male end and one is female. One of the two, after the bullet connector, becomes a slim white wire and immediately enters a wiring harness, wrapped in a black loom, and then crosses over the rear of the engine to the RH side where it merges with a larger harness. The skinny white wire is the only wire in the loom for that crossover to the other side.