1991 XJ6 Vanden Plas NO START

HI ALL,

I am new to Jag and am very lost on this car. car is a no start. it cranks over but has no fuel pressure, no injector pulse, and no spark. the car is a XJ6 Vanden Plas that was built 7/1990 LHD. From what i can tell this is really more of a xj40 then an xj6? i really appriace any input anyone may have. What i have checked.

1. fuel pump relay has power and when jumping 87-30 terminals i do get fuel pressure. on this im pretty sure that the ecm is not controlling the replay to turn on the fuel pump. this is the relay located on the left front near the fire wall. im not sure what the ecm is looking for to control this.

2. injector pulse checked using a noid light. has power to injectors. with this being said i believe it to not be receiving the ground signal from the ecm to fire the injectors. not sure where the ecm receives the information to fire these cam sensor input?

3. ohmed out the ckp senor i don’t remember what the value was but from what i can find it was in spec.

4. Checked power to the ecm from the main relay and the power is present there.

5. Checked power to the ignition amplifier and i do have power there.

Maybe someone has something i have not checked, or has an ideal on these cars that would take down all 3 systems.

Thank you!

These point to a dysfunctional crankshaft position sensor (CPS). Resistance being ‘in spec’ does not indicate a working CPS. I would try a known-working CPS first.

1 Like

Check if the rev counter registers <>200rpm when cranking, If not then this is a good sign the CPS is not working.

1 Like

The rev counter does indeed not move. My question to this though is if it has a failed cps would it also not prime the fuel pump for its .5 burst?

M though on this is yes it possibly could if it is taking the whole sensor side of the ecm to ground (earth). But with that being said if i unplug the cps i should regain the fuel pump prime correct?