2003 XJ VandenPlas with super v8 and 167,000 miles - work buying?

I am looking at a 2003 XJ VandenPlas with super v8 that seems to be in good shape - except for the mileage. The seller says it is mostly hiway miles. He has no knowledge if the timing chain guides have been replaced.

What service would you perform on a car of this mileage? Do they need lots of maintenance when they get close to 170,000 miles?

thanks,
Todd

Todd:
I have some experience with old XJ8s, having owned two XJRs which I bought each with about 150,000 miles and driven them to 230,000 + miles or so. I also maintain my wife’s 2002 XJ8 which we bought new and now has 160,000 miles or so.

First, let’s analyze all you have actually told us about the situation. You have identified an XJ8 which the owner cannot or will not give even the most basic service history on and… It must be pretty good looking because you are still interested. You did not mention price or what is in good condition and what is not.

In my anything but humble opinion, how an old Jaguar looks is by far the most important issue IF YOU ARE GOING TO DO SERVICE YOURSELF. Paint, body corrosion, upholstery, and interior parts are prohibitively expensive to fix once they reach a certain age and look. The engine and transmission are certainly up 250,000 mile or more service life, but sensors, throttle body, fluids, belts, hoses, tensioners, fuel pumps, and engine auxilliaries are all reaching the potential end of their life at 150,000 miles and this much age, BUT (in spite of what some around here would have you believe) the XJ8 Jaguar is not significantly more complicated or mechanically sophisticated than other high end automobiles. In fact, as I used to point out, my daughter’s Chevy Prizm had variable valve timing, EFI, Electronic transmisison control and so on. You get the point, I assume.