61 MK10 heater plumbing

Hello Brains trust. thought i will chuck this one out there for clarity.

heater pluming, from aluminum manifold over the carbs that has the thermostat at the other end, thought a vacuum actuated valve, into heater core. out of heater core down in to metal pipe and forward and into the water pump. that is what it looks like to me after thinking and looking at the parts manual. can any one confirm.

the confusion comes about because i have a bypass vacuum valve fitted. unlike the manual. or is there a configuration i am missing??

As a 420g noobie, id say, that the system is exactly how you described it, according to the manual… I studied the manual few weeks ago just to confirm myself, that somebody installed the valve on my car in the wrong direction…

thank you, a picture speaks a thousand words.

ok so i have previous owners creative repairs to undo. and a vacume valve to locate.

thankyou Marek

1 Like

When I looked into this a few months ago, I was told that these valves aren’t available, and old ones usually leak, prompting many to bypass or place a manual valve.
I did buy this item:

I haven’t installed it yet, but will be doing so as soon as my radiator returns from the rebuilder. I have seen a photo of it installed on a Mk10 on the Saloon Data site. I haven’t worked out whether it is correct as NO normal open or NC normal closed - I think it should be NC. If you do find a source for the original valve, please let us know.

correct normally closed. needs vacuum to open. i have just been playing around with it. thanks for the link

You can use this more modern valve, but it needs to be connected this way. Doing it the opposite way wont allow you to get hot air inside the car (guess how I know)
image image image

thank you very much, that all makes sense now.

as a side note, it maybe an idea to upgrade your hose clamps when you get a chance,