85 XJ6 Running Poorly/Rough

So I just got my xj6 working again and now I wanna tackle the rough running issue because it’s really bothering me now especially after I get out of my 94 xj12.

Some back story is that I got this car and the guy (a good previous owner) had replaced the distributor (Pertronix) and coil ( flamethrower) but supposedly couldn’t get it tuned properly and didnt have time so he sold it.

It still ran so I drove it home 20 miles. When I started looking around I found 2 plug wires mixed up… the car ran much better after that. I still thought there’s a misfire or something of that sort so I replaced the plugs and wires too but that made no difference. The timing I adjusted myself just till it seemed to run the best so I know that needs to be done right. But turning the distributor both ways does not make the rough running go away. I also had replaced the coolant temp sensor but it made no difference and looked new anyways

Now I’m not experienced with engine timing and distributors so I don’t know where to start on getting this thing running better. I do have the old distributor and coil that I could put if if I had to

With ‘rough running’, Jabraan - what are the actual symptoms…?

Like; what does the tacho read while idling - hot and cold. Is it steady or varying. And how does it sound at the exhaust end - even burbling or puffing? Does it smoke - black, grey or white…? Does the engine run smoothly at higher rpms - and does it pull OK and respond to the gas pedal on the road…?

There is no reason to suspect that reverting to the old EI and coil will improve matters. However; the Pertrinix advises specific coils - not arbitrarily put in a ‘high’ performance coil - or whatever. And, importantly; what is the actual ignition timing now?

Some further tests; connect a vacuum gauge to the fuel pressure vacuum line. Vacuum should be steady and somewhere around 18" Hg - if not; the readings may provide clues…