89 dashboard removal

It’s easy, it will be fun and you can get the a/c blowing ice cold! Well I bit the bullet, wanted to put in a new stereo and find out where the green wire went. Found the green wire and thought well may as well pull the dash and see about the a/c.only took 2 hours plus some broken pieces, but it’s out! Anyone want some pics while it’s out? Let me know. Still trying to figure out all the sensors and goodies and I do boat air for a living!

Is it possible to run the car for testing by reconnecting the instrument panel?

Missed a pic.

Big problem with plenum seperation!

Thanks for the pictures David. Looks like the dash separation is not an uncommon problem. Same thing happened to mine dash. I pulled it completely apart and that gave me a good chance to clean the air channels with some disinfecting wipes. Then I used the Loctite PL 3X adhesive to put both parts of the dash back together.

My center vent vaccum actuator is in pieces, I am thinking of just leaving it out, with the vent always open, any thoughts?

You mean the solenoid is taken off or you removed the center air flap? If you wanna leave it always open you can open/close the face air vent on front of the dash. Plus when it gets colder in the middle of the winter, you’ll have hot air coming out of the center vents. Try it and see how you like it.

The solenoid works but the piece that actually moves the door is broken. I have a block in there to hold it open so I thought just get rid of the door! Should I insulate the sensor above the door in the center top of the dash? Not sure what it is supposed to be there for.

Any idea why there is a motor driven door over the evap?