94 xj40 sitting for 10 years runs

xj40 was sitting 10 years accumulator was frozen ,no rear brakes but front brakes do work transmission seems to be on car was well kept when running ,but pervious owner just parked it he had several vehicles.
what else can I expect I’m a retired mechanic ,I worked on jags several years ago so nothing really amazes me any more

Hah…be careful with that mentality!

I too have worked on cars for ages. Always had Jaguars fro old to new.
Just for me, not concours restoration nonsense, just daily drivers.

On the older cars I’d agree with you, but on the newer ones sitting can be worse as anything.

I never considered the XJ40 before until recently having (after all these years) seen and sat in one for the first time since I was a kid…

Surprisingly I liked it!

the one I looked at too had een sitting, low miles…and although I got a S1 XJ6 to restore with an engine needing rebuild, otherwise they are almost identical in need.

Must go from front to back, flush everything, replace hoses, hand crank motor while fogging cylinders, lube or replace bearings, seals, shocks, rubber mounts, etc etc…flush gas tank, etc.

And there’s the wiring…

Funny, I watch Jay Leno’s garage and Petrolicious on UTube.
I recall Jay Leno mentioning his old Knucklehead and pulling it out after 30 yrs, did the once over routine and it started right up, however on modern cars today will one be able to say the same?
No way.

The XJ40 however and XJS are really the last true Jaguars imho.

Best of luck