ABS Warning Light won't go away

Hey guys I am new to this. I have been having an issue with my jaguar. It is a 1994 Jaguar XJ6. Had it for two years. Just about a month ago my ABS warning light came on and does not go away. I have cleaned the abs wheel sensors so far and that’s about it. Any suggestions?

If there is a plug where the wheel sensors connect to the vehicle harness check and clean these as well. Could be in an area where dirt and moisture accumulate.

1 Like

Ok will do sounds good. Another question, for some odd reason once my car is on the road for a good while my brakes start to squeal as I hit the brakes and slow down. They also squeal when I’m driving slowly. Could this be brake dust build up? I have also changed the calipers, brakes, and rotors just recently. Thanks

Replace the ABS sensor, should clear the problem.

Check that the brake pads are installed correctly, on my car I have anti squeal shims on the back of the pads, I also put a small amount of silicone grease on the back of the pads. Hope this helps

1 Like

On my xj40 it was common to put a piece of black tape over the light
It worked wonders
Only thing on an xj40 the whole dash was covered in it!
Bahaaaaa
Just having fun
But I did use a lot of tape​:grinning::rofl::-1:t6:

Why not read the ABS codes to get the info from the module??

https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/xj40-xj81-25/abs-blink-test-205442/

Ok I will try that first. Sadly those abs sensors are super expensive but luckily for me I have an extra Jag for spare parts. Yeah my next step was applying anti squeal grease on the back of the pads. Thank you so much

Yeah I have tried doing that but I cannot find the PM4 connector on my jag. That big brown one is now where to be found lol

hahahah might as well try that. Its a quick fix lollll

It’s so much easier on the eyes🤣

facts i agree. Simple life hacks 101 loll

Be extra careful removing the ABS sensors on your spare; they have a tendency to seize and snap.