Accelerator and brake pedal arrangement

Hi Folks,
Newbie here. I had an XJ6C in the past. This is my first XJS, and loving it so far - except - the accelerator/brake pedal arrangement is really counterintuitive and difficult, at least for me. I am almost 6 foot and fit into the driver’s seat all the way back comfortably. However the accelerator pedal is so close to the console wall my shoe scrapes it constantly, and more importantly, the top surface of the accelerator pedal is set so far back from the surface of the brake pedal, I consciously have to lift my foot at least 8 inches to engage the brake. This is annoying and even dangerous as I sometimes snag my shoe on the brake pedal coming up to it and have to position my foot on it just right so it doesn’t slip off to either side. Also, to engage the transmission kick-down switch I have to stretch my foot our so far I am almost pointing my toe horizontally. Has anyone else experienced this? Is the accelerator pedal position adjustable? If not the only fix I can think of is strapping a wooden or rubber block to the accelerator pedal to build it up several inches.
Anyone?
Thank you,
Richard

Welcome , i think you accelerator ped is bend or out of alignment

this is mine there is maybe a 3/4" off set from break to gas

I cut off bottom corners of my brake pedal and fit a different rubber pad from my Volvo 850. Helps.

Before you proceed any farther, you should note that the XJ-S accelerator pedal routinely gets distorted. With the hood open, have an assistant press the pedal to the floor. The turntable (presuming we’re talking about a V12) should rotate 90 degrees until it hits a hard stop. Then the assistant should be able to press harder and engage “kickdown”, meaning the housing if the throttle cable gets pulled toward the turntable against a spring and engages the kickdown switch.