Accelerator pedal overshooting the bracket

On a 66 MK2 I am having the accelerator peal overshoot the metal bracket from the firewall. This results in the pedal going under the bracket. I have attached two videos showing the problem.

Does the metal tang on the back of the pedal look bent and should I straighten it?

Should the wooden knurled knob on the bracket be perfectly round and this is causing a problem?

This only happens on full throttle and then you have the potential for a problem.

I have been driving without the pedal for almost two years during my recovery from knee surgery and now I am able to get to this to make it correct.

I could see welding a one inch extension to the pedal to prevent this, but that seems very extreme.

Gerard
Loveland, COlorado

Gerard,
You may have found your problem. The bracket on the pedal should be straight. See mine: http://valvechatter.us/wp-content/uploads/2012/11/Bracket-Assembly-Mounting-Accelerator-Pedal-to-Floor.jpg

Lin

I watched this and also re watched a video you sent me awhile back showing the movement of the pedal mechanism. This is going to be a bear to bend back into shape in the vcie as it is mostly a one piece bracket that will not lend itself easily to being held in a vice. One huge question comes to mind and that is how in the hell did this get so bent?

I also realize that I am missing one of the foam pads which I will have to construct. Should these be oiled for lubication of the rotating shaft?

Gerard

Here’s mine, it is bent to the right just like yours. It is actually welded at an angle.
The other pic shows the wear pattern at the top.

Kenny

Checked the parts manual, there is 4 different pedals available according to auto or manual and chassis number, so we could all be looking at different parts.