Additional fuel tank available Mk2?

Hi folks,

I will have to do longer trips with our Mk2 and the range gained by the original tank is by far too short. I saw pictures of additional tanks formerly supported by coombs. Does anybody know something about those or similar tanks - where to get, how to install ? Or is this too exotic ?

Would be great to hear from you.

Best regards and a happy new year !
Lindi

while I have no practical experience with an aux tank, I often thought that a fuel cell would fit in the back of the boot or trunk under the rear parcel shelf without interfering with the rest of the boot storage. I have an old Deliair Air/Con unit setting back there Add a second fuel pump and a switch - your good for 500 miles!

george
Cincinnati 1965 Mk2

You could use a tank from a Triumph Spitfire , just a bolt on job , add a filler cap like the Coombs or mount the tank low , so filler is out of sight !1966-triumph-spitfire-mk2-11%5B1%5D

a lot of the racing guys install tanks in the spare wheel well.

Hi folks,

thanks a lot for you quick and very helpful messages.

Having been victim of a screw in one tyre once, I want to keep the spare wheel.

Fuel cell is a good idea, Spitfire tank is the one that I want wo try first. What I don’t quite understand, is how to mount the tank low ?

I would try to get it situated in the region in the boot, where the rear axles lives underneath. The filler would go out either on the top (if there is enough space above) or at the front (unvisible), with a tube connected to be filled at the side of the tank with the boot lid open. That correct ?

Best regards
Lindi

I did mean mounted like Coombs did , keep tank low to the floor to keep the filler inside the boot ! fuel%20tank%5B1%5D

ah, ok !

Is this on the pic a tank of a Spitfire? Looks a bit big (what would be good for a long mileage).

Best regards
Lindi

No pic is not that of a Spitfire , just to show what I meant !