Advice on air conditioner compressor for 1987 series 3 XJ6

The a/c ceased to blow hot air yesterday, took it to an a/c shop I’ve been using for many years. Shop owner said the compressor clutch has gone bad, the ‘good’ news is the compressor itself appears to still have plenty of refrigerant in it, which he says he can vacuum and reuse, saving me a few $$$. He said his supplier wants $800 for a compressor (wouldn’t tell me the brand) but readily admitted I could find one on line for substantially less and if I wanted to take that route he’d be ok with it, but, of course, he would not offer me any warranty. I called one of the ‘usual’ suppliers, he told me there are aluminum ones for $200.00 to $250.00, but they don’t carry them any more due to too many failed units within periods of less than a year. He said now they only sell GM Harrison units, at $450.00 each, but they are better units & last a long time. Any constructive ad vice on what I should do would be welcome. Thanks…

Did you consider replacing just the clutch? Sometimes it can be done while the compressor is still on the car, in which case you needn’t remove the coolant. Might try to find out why the clutch is bad–slipping, burned out coil etc.

BTW, I hadn’t heard much bad about the aluminum replacements for the Harrison A6 in terms of reliability. They are new; I don’t think you can buy new A6 compressors from the original manufacturer.

The aluminum ones have less output at idle speed, though–the original A6 was the equivalent of 5 tons–a large home unit. IMHO.