AED/ASC Device Differences

I’ve been messing with these things since 2000 and always learning something but I’m stumped on this one. As I understand AED is Automatic Enrichment Device and ASC is Auxiliary Starting Carburetor both solenoid operated with thermostatic Otter switches. What is the difference? I believe my 59 3.4 liter has an ASC which feeds a rich fuel/air mixture directly into the intake manifold through a large metal tube. The 1960 3.8 I’m working on has a different set-up with four steel tubes routed along and into the manifold. I’ve been looking through all my books and can not find anything.

I always thought the two terms were synonymous.

Burlen Fuel systems give some useful info on their site Servicing - SU Carburetters

Frankie

The nomenclature is confusing, but there are two completely different devices, both referred to by SU as “auxillary starting devices.”

One of them is the AED shown in the above Burlen URL. It’s very complicated, and comprises a thermostatic sensor, a complete carburetor including a float chamber, and a bimetallic control for its jet. With a cold engine, it delivers a very rich mixture whilst starting, reduces the mixture when it senses manifold vacuum, then reduces it continuously as the engine warms up.