...And a Series 1 is Reborn

It Lives! Here’s a short video of the Series 1 I’ve been working on for lo these many months 15 seconds after starting for the first time. This must be how parents feel when their kids are born but this one smells better and is way prettier :slight_smile: You might notice some smoke - that’s the exhaust manifold paint curing… this is literally just after first start up. Also there is a little squeak - it’s either an exhaust pipe or a mount. Gotta look at that later.

A big big THANK YOU to @Robert_Wilkinson for all of his invaluable help over the years regarding the Mk 10 Triple SU conversion. I think I started bugging him about the details of his conversion about 8 or 9 years ago and he’s been nothing but patient (not to mention incredibly helpful) with my incessant questioning the whole time.

Also a big big THANK YOU to @eng (Scott M) for crawling under and over his rare LHD Manual Series 1 to get me pics of the details of his clutch and transmission connections. There aren’t many images of real LHD Manuals to be found - his help was also invaluable.

72 XJ6 Triple SU’s starts for the first time

~Mike
72 XJ6 (x2)
73 XJ6
85 XJ6
84 XJS
60 Mk2

3 Likes

Nice! Well done! :blush:

Hi Mike

Sounds & looks beautiful and thanks for the kind words.Drive and enjoy it you certainly earned it.

Scott

Absolutely magnificent. You’ve assisted me far more than the other way 'round, Mike. In fact, I think all my advise has been “don’t do what I did.”

Very beautiful engine detail. I notice you still need air filtration and breather hookup. Don’t do what I did. :slight_smile:

Thank you for sharing Mike.
A great feeling no doubt. Restoration is very satisfying. Envious, what a dream.

Is this the car you put a manual gearbox into?

And what did you say that robust front sway bar was from again?