Automatic to Manual Conversion, Again

Hi all, I’m sure these questions have been asked many times before, but I’m still learning about the Mk 2 and really appreciate any advice.

I intend to convert my 1962 Mk 2 from a BW DG250 auto to a 4-synchro manual with the short Laycock de Normanville overdrive. I’m pretty sure I know most of the mods required, including the pedal box, flywheel, propshaft, clutch actuation, OD switch, rear mount, etc. My primary concern is the transmission tunnel - does this involve some minor reshaping and cutting a hole for the shift lever? Or is it more significant? I see that both the carpets and the center console dash panels are different because of the tunnel shape.

Also, is there much difference in the layout of the late Mk2 with this arrangement vs the 420G? Does the 420G have a cast iron version of the L de N overdrive? and are the 420 gearbox mount and driveshaft different than a late model Mk2 with OD?

Really appreciate the advice as I’m sure it’s been done many times.

Jason.

Hi Jason,
I performed this with my '66 ‘S’ many years ago, you will not be disappointed with the different driving dynamics.
I left the tunnel as it was which caused some problems with fitting the centre consol, IIRC I cut a hole in the tunnel and I think I sourced a cover from a wreckers, but don’t quote me on that.
The gearbox I used was from a XJ6,probably S1 with O/d and I used the XJ gearbox mount. For the o/d switch I repurposed the intermediate hold switch on the dash, so easy to operate, didn’t have to take the hand ff the steering wheel, not sure if the MK11 has that switch?
As I mentioned it was at least 25 yrs ago and I am about to start rebuilding the car as it has been off the road for the last 20 years. I probably had to modify the prop shaft but honestly cannot recall now.