Backseat installation ever?

Hello All,

Brand new to the forum, brand new jag owner after 30 years of wishing, and very happy to be here!
So, as many have said before me, I do apologize if this topic is not new on the forum, but as-mentioned, i’m a brand newbie. 1 month ago, I bought a cherry condition 1987 XJS V12 convertible. Now, I know that in the Hess & Eisenbrandt convertibles, H+E had the backseats removed to make-way for the canopy mechanics etc-etc…

Now here’s the question: (*I’m sure to some purists this question is blasphemy.)
Has anyone ever had (or heard-of) a backseat actually being re-installed into a H+E convertible? A custom job perhaps? Again, even-if basically just for visual. I have the spare matching xjs complete backseat and side panels purchased from a salvage xjs. Are there any places in the US that do this or can it be done? I just like the vintage sporty look of the backseat, over the 2 seater rear open half-bucket. I havent given up on this detail yet on the road to my ultimate dream car xjs

IMG_0007

I would just remove that back tray and see what’s underneath. You may find it ready for the backseat pieces or perhaps needing just a minor amount of work to accommodate the seat. You do realize that only very small people, without legs, will be able to actually sit back there.
Beautiful car, congratulations.
Phillip

I was going to ask if there were very short people in the family but you beat me to it :slight_smile:

Pretty sure there’s a fuel tank underneath.

I’d say you have two options. One would be to upholster the area so it looks kinda like seats but not usable as such; I’ve seen Maseratis with such “vestigial” back seats, apparently some people like the notion. The other would be to upholster the area in such a way that one person could sit sideways back there.

Thought these images may be of interest.
xjs%20back%20seat%201 xjs%20back%20seat%202 xjs%20back%20seat%203 xjs%20back%20seat%20and%20fuel%20tank
Phillip