BEWARE - More Prothane Suspension Bushing Failures

I posted last year about failure of the Prothane polyurethane bushings on the upper control arms on my Series 2 E-type. This week, I noticed that 2 of the front anti-roll bar link bushing were gone! Just the steel liner remained. The D-bushings were partial disintegrated too. I can’t understand what went wrong with these. I’ve got about 1,000 miles on these. Moss sells this brand for E-types. Never again. Went back with standard rubber bushings.

That’s never happened to the brand CJ sells. The worst I can say is that they can squeak if you don’t use copious thick ptfe grease. Disintegrating like that makes me think those are vulnerable to heat or oil.

I’ve been selling polyurethane bushings for Jaguars for about 25 years. Shop use, retail, and sales to shops and retail users. Some of the Jaguar shops bought hundreds over the decades. I can’t recall a single warranty.

None of them were Prothane. Are there bad reports on the brand or is this a
more isolated issue?

Mark,

Have you reported this to the vendor? It may not get you any compensation but might save someone else from the “no one’s ever reported a problem before” line, though probably not…

1 Like

No, but I guess I should. The worst part is the rework effort to disassemble everything to put rubber parts back in. If the lower control arm bushing go, I’ll have to unspring the torsion bars…not fun!

1 Like

Please report your problem. I have done this before with other components and the vendors took it seriously. If you say nothing the vendor can’t fix the problem.

Paul

The ones that failed were not exposed to either heat or oil. The first failure was before the restoration job was complete.

I’m guessing it was a isolated “bad batch” problem, since Moss Motors sell this brand. I just got lucky… :cold_face:

I’m trying to inform them, but I’m having technical problems.

Wrong material for the job. As you can see, it’s quite brittle when cold.