Birch Grey Paint

Best luck so far trying to match Birch grey is from AutoColor their code D3104. Anybody with experience here?

Hi,

No experience, yet. But I have been collecting references and information for 15 years. My MKV DHC #647194 was originally Birch Grey and I would like to return the car to it’s original look in every way.

I did get an original paint sample plate, but the paint shop has managed to somehow displace it. I hope they find it.

Cheers,

Pekka T.
Fin.

If you remind me, I would be glad to send the card I just ordered once I an done.

I have a 1956 xk140mc dhc in Birch Grey. It is definitely a metallic color and different than the sample or that used on 120’s. Much close to Silver Birch used on later cars.

Hi,

That would be great. But wait, where did you say you ordered one?

I tried for years to order samples from the Autocolorlibrary in the USA who had cross referenced the original Domolac/Zofelac samples, no luck! Then I was told they no longer do it, and that some of the pigments used, were NLA, again.

The original paints back then were not metallic, except for all models between 1949-1952:

Pastel Green (Metallic)
Pastel Blue (Metallic)

plus

Gunmetal (Saloons only (and MKIV & MKV DHC)

Bronze, XK’s only
Silver, XK’s only

And the rare MK VII & XK 120 paint “Twilight Blue” (Metallic)

All other paints were solid colour cellulose paints. And after the new paint system was introduced in 1952 all paints, also Pastel Blue and Pastel Green were non-metallic, solid colours all the way until the E-type was introduced with new synthetic metallic paints. AFAIK only very few special orders may have had something else, it’s all well documented in the factory material, brochures, colour charts, service bulletins and salesman’s handbook etc.

Birch Grey was never metallic from the factory, especially not in the 1950’s.

Cheers,

Pekka T.
Fin.

I ordered it from Autocolor, about $40, they shipped it out in a day, I should receive soon.