Brake upgrades - what's your experience?

My master cylinder has started leaking and there’s work to do on the front suspension so it’s time to consider a front brake upgrade. The car is an early S1 with standard solid discs and 3 pot cast iron calipers. I’m a steady driver but need to press the pedal damn hard to bring the car to a stop compared to my 2008 Volvo - I guess that’s the way brakes were in the '70s.

Upgrades seems to be billet aluminium 4 pot calipers for the solid discs or similar calipers plus vented discs, with a variety of pad friction material. The total parts cost will be significant, but that’s OK if the improvement matches.

Anyone have any personal experience?

Frankie

I’ve no experience with the brakes of an S1.

But, I have the following thoughts.

1. Your Volvo has ABS. A totally different pedal feel. My 94 Jeep as it as well. I note the difference in pedal feel when compared to my SIII. It isn’t a good vs bad, just dfifferent and trhe alter, a tad better.

2. That is not to say that the S1 brakes are not adequate if all is in good condition.

3. The hard pedal can be related to poor boost, a failed or failing cannister. Or, glazed pads front or rear or both.

4. The infamous" rear calipers may have failed. A two wheel brake car!!! Been there, done that.

5. A standard brake service job will often do wonders. Clean rotors, fresh pads, new or refurbed calipers, etc At times merely fresh pads…

Carl

Something’s not correct: in good nick, an SI’s brakes were pretty good.

You likely just need to go through and bring up to spec the stock system, before going through all the rigamarole of “upgrading.”

Yup.

My thoughts, but far more direct…

Rain, clean air, fires getting doused,

Billy came to the breezeway for his favorite kibble… Medicated, but he eats it anyway!!!

Carl