Bw model 12J shifting between 2nd and 3rd

I have a 71 xj6 with bw12 tranny. Just rebuilt it completely with new modulator. Everything is fine it has all gears and reverse ( i rebuild trannys for a living but first time on a 71 bw12) i have this issue where it goes from second to third and if i dont give it more throttle it will jump back yo 2nd and back to 3rd. Up and down amd up and down unless i give it more or less throttle… Anyone had this issue? I know about band adjustment and vacuum modulator adjustment but im hoping someone can specifically say i should adjust either one more or less to save me spending days trying to find the sweet spot… Btw the problem was there before the rebuild and im really confident theres no issue in the tranny.
Greetings from South Africa

The BW12s shifting is a function of manifold vacuum (modulator), road speed (governor) and engine rpms (fluid pump).

The valve body ‘compares’ the pressures resulting from these components and selects the appropriate gear by moving the spring loaded spool valves in the valve body.

What were the pressure and vacuum readings when you finished the modulator adjustments? Ie, you got it to specs - and what did you do with the valve body during the rebuild…?

If so; one possible problem with your shifting is the governor - improper feedback pressure to the valve body. The other is an undetected fault in the valve body itself. With either fault; you cannot adjust to a ‘sweet spot’ - the fault must be rectified

All that said; all automatic boxes are programmed to upshift as quickly as possible - depending on pedal position. And to downshift when the driver indicates that he/she wants power by stepping on the pedal.

So have you checked that the shift points are to specs…?

Frank
xj6 85 Sov Europe (UK/NZ)