C-Type Replica Spring Rates

Hello all,

Newbie here looking to pick the brains of all you experienced builders out there. Just acquired a CERA C-Type rep (long story). Its a great piece of kit but the back end seems somewhat saggy and regularly bottoms out. It’s a live axle set-up with a single coil-over on each side. I think the starting point is to replace the old coil-overs and go from there. I’ve identified the required shocks but I’m having trouble with getting the right springs. The ones on the car have no markings so I’ve no idea about the correct spring rates. I’ve had 150lb/in suggested but these are nowhere near as beefy as the ones currently on the car.

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance

Rateone

Hi…The single rear coilover each side on my Realm C type is 650lb…its not a live axel but used cut down xj6 driveshafts and lower wishbones and xj6 dif(standard Realm setup)…Steve

Thanks Steve,

That’s a real help. Mine has trailing arms and what looks like it might be a MkII unit.

Cheers

Dave

You sure about that Steve? That is four times as hard as my D (from memory). At 650 lb/in it would be impossible to bounce the corner. I’ve met you and you’re not even baby elephant-sized.

Hi Peter…Jumbo here​:joy::joy: here is the rear coil over 650 the fronts i think have 450 425 on them(cant get to them to check…it was discussed on one of my C group chats…i thought i remember it being the spring rate…im no expert and a call to Adrian at Realm would give a definate answer…or a post on tne JDC replica facebook site…All the best…Steve ps looking at the SNG site the coil spring for the adjustable platform shock on tne E type is rated 325lb and you use 2 each side on an E so 650 sounds right…possibly

I think there’s a logic to both and I’m no expert.