Camshaft timing optimized for low-mid revs?

Hello Everyone,
I will soon have to check the cams timing since I just bolted the head back on an mk2 3.8 engine yesterday.
As the driver of that car (my father) is driving it mostly low/mid revs I was wondering whether the cam shaft timing stated in the workshop manual could be optimized a bit for his usage? As I understand it the original angles are probably a compromise to cover the range from low to high(ish!) revs but it could be a bit of a waste to keep it that way for someone driving mostly on low end torque? (In my opinion it’s a pity to “never” rev it a little but anyway …!)
Is there some knowledge on the cam timings on here? (backed with serious data like torque curves ideally)

Thanks in advance!
(I guess I could find out myself to a certain degree with a few sessions on a rolling road but quite frankly I am just a newbie in this so …)

Does it have an automatic? If so, the stock cam timing is perfectly adequate.

1 Like

No a late full synchromesh gearbox with an overdrive (and a standard ratio LSD differential)

He has owned the car for 10/15 years so nobody is worried about it being good enough for his usage, but it’s just me, I am wondering whether it could be further optimized for him or if it’s not worth it?

Even with a manual transmission, you’re better off, spending your time, making sure the ignition and carburetors are in top shape.

1 Like

Indeed this will be checked again (the car was driving perfectly fine before the head removal because of a coolant leak towards the exterior near the cylinder #1 at the rear)
But this will be checked properly again of course (we installed oxygen sensors ports a while ago so we could plug a wide range oxygen sensor when adjusting the carbs for instance)