Can anyone help me identify these Jaguar axles please?

I am no expert on 70 year old axles! I hope someone else here is.

I am trying to be a skinflint. Usually when this happens I pay double.

With a general lack of affordable 120 XK axles locally, I am trying to get any axle on my XK120 to get it rolling. I will keep my eyes out for the real thing over the next year.

I bought these 2 cheap, they arrived on a pallet yesterday.

The Salisbury looking one is just over 50 inches wide measured from the wheel faces of the brake drums.

It has 11 inch brake drums and splines for wires. MK1 is scribbled onto it (Saloon?).

This one is complete with a functioning hand brake mechanism. It will not turn. I hope to get the drums off tomorrow, maybe the back off to, to see what the ratio is. No tags. This distance between spring perch centers is just over 3ft.

The other one is approximately 53 inches wide and has 12 inch drums. It looks a bit like an ENV. It turns, however when I counted the turns the answer was 2.25:1 which I find hard to believe. I might have to try harder.

Couple of pics below. I hope to be able to pull one apart tomorrow.

I have altered spring hangers on tube axles many times before. I even have a new set of spring hangers ready to weld on. I have telescopic lower shock brackets and upper brackets already on the chassis.

I have no idea of the pinion angle I am trying to achieve. If the diff pinion runs parallel to the spring hanger, I could get straight on with it.

Does anyone know?

Anyone got any ideas?

Wire wheel axle is a Salisbury, looks like a 4HA, the other, assuming it is a from a Jaguar, is ENV. Doesn’t look like either of them is from an XK.

1 Like

wire brush em up in the usual places to find some numbers, and markings…near the flanges on the diff…and sometimes on the top of the axle tube…also on the base of the diff nose…\Nick

This table gives the center to center drop for the ring and pinion for the various Salisbury axles.