Can't cold start. No pulse at injectors

(Alexandre G Fortin) #1

My XJ40 1988 can’t cold start without ether in the intake. After it runs for about 5-10 min, it re-start well. The idle is a little low (around 700-800) but everything seems to work fine, exept a speaker…

There is not pulsating in the injectors at ignition. What could cause that, and how come it re-start after running a few minutes? (Im a bit of a newb) When its humid/raining, the car doesnt restart after a 1h drive. It needs ether for any start.

Fuel pump works well, pressure in good. Crank shaft sensor, and well as temperature sensor changed. I tried another ECU, same problem. Alternator was rebuilt lately, battery is new. Theres 12v at the injector but no pulse. I cleaned a few grounds… what else… all relays work fine. Theres is spark.

Any ideas?

Error in dashboard : fuelling failure 1 and 6, they alternate…

It is not the fuel pump, pressure in/out was tested.

(motorcarman) #2

Fuel Fail 1- CRANKING SIGNAL FAILURE

Fuel Fail 6- Air mass meter failure (high throttle potentiometer Voltage with low air mass meter Voltage).

Could be your TPS is faulty or adjusted incorrectly??
MAFS faulty??

XJ40VCM.pdf (690.7 KB)

bob

(Robin O'Connor) #3

Isn’t this the third thread started for this problem?

(Alexandre G Fortin) #4

Yes. No one seems to have any idea…

(Bryan N) #5

Not true. People have responded with a number of ideas - apparently not the correct ones - but starting a new thread after each failed attempt isn’t going to help much

(Mike Stone) #6

Bryan, I wouldn’t say starting a new thread won’t help much - I would say it hurts! Someone seeing the new thread without having seen previous posts (threads) about the problem may well suggest fixes that were previously suggested. Plus, anyone researching the same problem in the future won’t get the full history unless they chase down the multiple posts.

(Robin O'Connor) #7