Car insurance coverage

After reading this article I grew concerned that by transporting my 7 year old son to and from his baseball games I wasn’t insured…

I call to hagerty reassured me that as long as I wasn’t using my vehicle as a true daily driver I would be ok. Phew.

Hagerty seems to have a very common sense approach that supports our hobby.

I called them when I was planning to drive into Canada to see if they needed to know. It was obvious (because I live in Tucson) that this was going to be a trip of many miles. They had no problem with it, they even sent me an insurance card (English & French) specifically for Canada in a little plastic holder that said on the outside ‘Cruise Liberally’.

I suppose if I had an accident in 7am rush hour traffic on a week-day I would have some explaining to do but generally they want us to enjoy our cars.

3 Likes

Hagerty said I could even drive the car to work as long as it’s not my primary mode of commute (ie daily).

They really do seem to support the community.

4 Likes

I explained that since I live in Vermont and don’t drive in the snow or rain the maximum number of drives per year would be 3 :slight_smile:

And that is only if summer falls on a week-end.

5 Likes

So if you took the kid to school everyday in the E, you’d be uninsured!?

When I first purchased my E one of my girls just started driver’s ed. but we only owned two vehicles plus the E. Hagerty gave me 30 days to find a different insurer because we had three drivers and three cars (one of them being the E) making the E a daily driver. American Collector covered it til both girls had a car then I switched back .
Bottom line you can use them as you want (well almost) but you have to have a vehicle for each driver that resides in the household besides the E.

Marco