Covered headlights for series 2

I am a newbie and would like to convert the headlights on my 1969 roadster to covered headlights. I have run across old posts discussing Marek and Wahl conversion kits but I am not sure what the current thinking is on these or other kits. Can someone help me out?

I ve recently converted my series 3 using Monocoque sheet metal. Love the results and the fact that it uses genuine series 1 glass and trim

It takes quite a bit of work but in my case we had some rust to address on the bonnet anyway

2 Likes

Marek’s kit:

1 Like

Wow, the Monocoque looks great but I don’t think I want to redo the bonnet since mine is in good repair.
The Marek conversion looks good too and, if I understand correctly, is fairly straightforward to install. Will investigate the Marek conversion kit first. Not sure where to find them but will look on web. Bob, if you have a suggested source, feel free to send me a link so I can check it out.
Thanks for helping me out
George

@MarekH, you’re being paged!

There’s a series two for sale in NZ that has been converted - not sure I like the “thin” strip.

It certainly is a personal choice: I think the fat factory frames look like a kloodge, whereas the thin strips look more refined… and open up more exit area for the light.

Whatever you decide to do, Marek or Wahl, be prepared for some work testing your patience. Sorry can’t talk about the Wahl kit, I’ve only installed the other.
The result however, is very rewarding.

1 Like

How hard is it to convert a Series 1.5 ? Is just a matter of swapping parts/hardware ?

Thanks Pete for your reply