Decisions about the future of the V-12 in my XJ12C

My 1975 XJ12C is still running pretty well with the original ignition (still points and condenser) and the original D-Jetronic fuel injection. It is running rich and tends to die until it is warmed up. I have yet to do a compression test and oil pressure test with an analog mechanical gauge to determine the overall heath of the powerplant before I spend a ton on getting it to run better. I have done some research on this forum about the option of upgrading the EFI to a MegaSquirt system and feel this may be a viable option given the lack of available electronic spare parts. Just how much of the install and tuning of this system requires a degree in mechanical and electronic engineering? Is the a single source that can walk me through the process step by step? I have some automotive knowledge but I am lost when it comes to fuel mapping and optimum advance curves. If I decide to move forward with this upgrade I would also convert to a Coil on Plug system of some sort as well. I really like to look of the late model V-12’s with the center valley cover. Makes the engine look like a modern car and cleans things up considerably.

Converting to MegaSquirt is something I’ve been thinking about, mostly in preparation for when something bad happens to the Zytek ECU in my XJR-S. I spent some time scanning the msextra.com/forums, and recently posted a tentative opening question. I get the feeling that MegaSquirt is a known quantity for 4-6-8 cylinder applications, and there seem to be companies that have off the shelf components, but there doesn’t seem to be very much experience of use with V12s.