E Type Series 3 Differential Rebuild Problem

Hello,

I’m restoring the differential in my E Type S3. When I opened it up I found that the cross pins for the spider gears had broken. After lots of searching I found replacement gears and cross pins. My challenge is that when I go to attach the 2 output shafts, I’m ending up with a larger than normal gap, making it impossible to properly center the calipers over the rotors. The cross pins that were originally in the diff (that broke) had a spacer block attached to the them, so I assumed that this was correct. I recently read that there are 2 versions of the cross pins, one with the spacer block and one without (image attached). Anyone know which is correct for the E Type S3?

Thanks,
Chris

Hi Chris I’ve rebuilt several E Type and XJ12 differentials. I’m no expert however. I don’t understand your question. First what do you mean by spacer block. I see nothing in the parts diagrams for Ser III diff’s that is called that, and don’t recall anything in any diff I’ve had apart that would warrant that term. Secondly I don’t understand why you can’t center the rotors. That implies that the hub is either too close to the case or too far away. The position of the hub is determined by the number of shims between it’s carrier and the diff case. Did you exactly replace the number of shims each side that were there when you took the case apart.?

Hi Terry,