EFI for the XK engine

I am looking at options to improve drive-ability in my SII XJ6. I have had the car for a number of years and pretty much have stripped out all of the smog equipment. Currently running the twin zenith strombergs. I am looking to take it to the next level and am considering EFI options. Has anyone had any experience using a fuel injection kit from Classic Fuel Injection? http://www.classicfuelinjection.co.uk/ Any feedback would be appreciated.

Take look/search o the etype forum. there is a lot on this subject. The main work is in the fuel delivery/return and crankshaft position sensor assembly.

I would start with an S3 manifold and an aftermarket ECU. I’ve been running a 67 S Type on EFI for 20 years, check the archives.

Looking at the Classic Fuel Injection (CFI) website, they use throttle-body fuel injection instead of port fuel injection. Port fuel injection is what most people think of when they think fuel injection, and is the method Jaguar used/uses.

A throttle body injection setup basically injects the fuel into a central throttle body instead of the ports feeding individual cylinders. It’s kind of a halfway point between true port fuel injection and a carburetor. You might almost consider it a electronically controllable and tuneable, more precise carburetor. The only OEM cars I recall in recent memory using throttle body fuel injection were the GM models of the 80’s and part of the 90’s.

I believe the CFI configuration uses three throttle bodies for the XK engine, so one injector for two cylinders - just like a three carb SU setup.

Throttle body fuel injection does have benefits and is much less complicated than port fuel injection, but the potential capabilities are also correspondingly less. From my standpoint, I’m not sure I would just go halfway with throttle body injection, since I’m not sure how much potential gain (if any) there would be over well tuned SUs,