Electrical woes

So we hooked up the battery to begin checking electrical.

The left turn signal blinks when you push indicator down, but the green arrow indicator on the dash flashes for the Right/passenger turn signal.

To make things even more entertaining I smelled smoke and there is smoke coming from the wad of wires on the drivers side.

Is it wrong that I want to sit in a corner and cry?

Pictures may or may not be helpful but here they are. I have the huge wiring diagrams. Gonna learn how to read one then try to figure this out! Complete novice here.

Uploading: 287BBCE9-3836-4011-919A-7CCB6F9922C7.jpeg…

Pics are not uploading. Will post when I get home.

That could be as simple as an incorrect connection - what happens when you signal right?

The smoke is worrisome. There is a fair amount of wiring that is not protected by any fuse. What I call the ‘white wire’ and ‘brown wire’ circuits. I actually took a B&W wiring diagram and highlighted all the places where the wiring loom is your ‘fuse’ should a short or overload happen.

There are several techniques for safely diagnosing this (e.g. adding a load such as a headlamp into a circuit as you test one circuit at a time) and for adding protection for those circuits (I added fusible links which at least put the smoke in a safe place).

The key IMO is a methodical and thorough approach - diagnosing electrical gremlins usually takes a lot of time & patience.

1 Like

Right turn signal not working at all.

The metal flasher (round thing in driver side) felt hot. Unhooked battery when I saw tiny bit of smoke. :frowning:

As annoying as it sounds, I think you’ll have to spend an afternoon going through the wiring diagram to make certain everything’s been connected correctly. Fortunately it really is pretty simple compared to modern cars. There really aren’t that many wires.

1 Like