Engine vent termination point

Hello again,

What is the proper location for the engine/cam vent to terminate? Currently mine runs left and down from the top front of the engine and vents under the front left fender? It seems if this is not properly placed the fumes could find their way into cabin vents.

Thank you,

James

To the left and down is correct. It is clipped to the radiator brace rod and continues down beside the chassis.
I have added an extension hose to carry the fumes back a bit further.
PICT0016

Rob,

Looks just like mine, I think I will do the same.

thank you,

James

James,

It varies a bit per version. Don’t know what XK version you have but e.g. the XK 140 FHC has a different routing and length.

Bob K.

I’m no expert but I would think that a proper road draft tube should enter the slipstream between the car and the road at a right angle–perpendicular to the road. That would maximize the suction. Similarly, the main jet orifice of a carb is positioned at a right angle to the venturi air flow. IMHO.

On the '36-'51 pushrod engine models, the road draft tube is indeed perpendicular to the road, with an angled cut on the end.
From the OP’s description I assumed he has a 120 like mine.
If fumes were a significant problem, one could of course route the tube into the intake through a hose connected to the inside of the air cleaner element, as was indeed how it was done on my '74 XJ12. This was known as positive crankcase ventilation, an early step in air pollution control found on most cars beginning in the 1960s.
My 1950 Mark V has both, a road draft tube, and PCV directly from the rocker cover into the air cleaner.

I’m not sure the road draft tube was designed to work as some kind of suction device by means of the venturi effect. I think it was more to let oil vapour condense and drip onto the road (or garage floor…)

1 Like