For those who paint their own cars - a thought

Found an interesting post with a concept I actually tried out. While I have shop heat I’ve always painted in warmer weather (due to venting as well as curing). So, I find this guy who said never (? maybe not “never”) use faster reducers. His reasoning:
Dries on the surface and holds reducers against your body work and underlayments which causes trouble. He claims only the surface dries faster - or more correctly at the correct rate. Now these days most guys are talking clear coats, and putting clear on pretty thick. Anyway, used the slower thinner at a 66 degree F shop temp. No problem. No runs and cure rate seems fine. The guy with the post seemed rational and sensible and his points seemed to work out. Your results… etc, etc.

I agree, faster thinners are for production shops. Personally I get a better gloss with slower thinners. But painting the car will take longer, but I am a hobbyist and don’t care it takes longer. I shoot mostly single stage on my collector cars. I have painted about 1 car every 2 years for the last 40 years. Here was my last paint job.

5 Likes

Beautiful job. How did you get that windscreen so darned clean? :sunglasses:
Phillip

2 Likes

I hope there’s an XK engine in there to qualify as Jag content :smile:

On the opposite end of the spectrum I just used an HVLP turbine system to do a garage respray of my old pickup. Those things throw out very warm dry air, and when it started warming up here in Texas, I had to go to the slowest available reducer just to keep the paint from kicking off in the waiting gun while I mixed another batch of paint. Anyway, slow reducer works for me.

Hot rod satin black…a real bugger to get right, and virtually impossible to spot repair if you have a run. I had to repaint one of the doors for this reason.

Regardless of what you get anecdotally, follow manufacturers’ directions. They know their products best.

2 Likes