Frozen Clutch Fork - What to Do?

Hi folks,

I’m helping a friend remedy clutch issues on his 67 roadster. It’s a beautiful low mileage car but it’s been sitting for quite some time (4 years?) and when he finally went to move the car he had no clutch pedal. There were no obvious signs of leakage so we tried to bleed the system but it did nothing. Since then I have swapped out both the slave and master cylinders and the pedal has returned.

Now the real issue: when I was working on the slave I noticed the clutch fork had no free motion and seems to be frozen in place. I’m no expert but I had swapped a similar slave cylinder on my car and I recall you could move the fork back and forth, which is part of the procedure you use to adjust the length of the rod on the slave. I tried banging on the end of the fork a bit and saw what looked like smoke (rust dust?) come from the small view port on the bottom of the bell housing; nothing budged though so I backed off.

Any thoughts? Now he has good hydraulics (with the slave disconnected from the fork the piston moves nicely in response to the pedal) but no motion when connected to the fork.

Also, will pressing the pedal in this state risk the hydraulic system, eg blow a seal?

Thanks in advance for any insight,
Steve

About the only thing you can do, short of r&ring the engine, is try to squirt Kroil or the like, up onto the pivot pin. Let it soak in, use a lot of it, and hope it loosens it.

Hi Paul, thanks for the response. You would suspect the pivot pin is frozen and not the TOB on the shaft? Interesting. I expect you can get to it from the hole in the bell housing the fork fits on?

What’s the risk of contaminating the clutch facings if spraying?

Best, Steve

The take up bearing can’t seize onto the shaft. The ends of the bearing housing sit in slots and are retained by funny looking circular clips.
Perhaps you could also apply some moderate heat to the arm to help the penetrating oil do its job…