Fuel line routing in tank

I am new to Jaguars but have worked on and modified cars for over 40 years. Foreign and domestic. In the past I worked for a British care specialty shop in Colorado. So I am not a newbie to cars. I recently acquired a 1994 XJ12 that has not run in 3 or 4 years. It has 2 submerged fuel pumps. I have removed the tank, cleaned and am in the process of replacing pumps, strainers, fuel lines, pump retainers, and gauge sending unit. In other words everything in the tank will be new. My question is on the fuel line routing. Looking inside the tank the two inner lines are joined and the two outer lines are joined. Verified not only by sight but by using an air blower off of my compressor. I believe the two inner lines are pressure and the two outer are the return. If this is correct the two inner lines should go to the outlet of the pumps (the metal fitting) and the two outer should go to the plastic fitting on the fuel pump canisters. NOT the way they were when I took them apart. I would think that both outlets from the pumps should go together and the two returns (from engine) should go together. Does anyone know if my reasoning is correct.

Thanks

dldstrock

Deleted - duff information! :-0

I don’t know how the dual pump setup works but the brass fitting in Joe’s pic is the pump outlet for the canister …

HTH
http://www.jag-lovers.org/include/iv3.php3?zx=SdADygwIiM8ED8ZK%2FZfkxwTQDQOZnscKzAc41s2j3L1HN6OXyPgJPjSjzgpGB%2F4Bp4vIGLwLFN3dDQABOjWT0gVI%2FEtBlNUIObwLFNnU90IK%2FgCs2QQzBzhBy8cINf8%2BQJTW%2FkK9PDnZ09MJ%2BBIDlsjNCskJPp6czgvQUwefl8gFzwpGnJnGAscLAMeI0Q%3D%3D

Yes. Had that much figured out. Guess I will blow air from the fuel manifold on engine back to tank and see which one is pressure and which one is return on the bottom of the tank. The pumps HAVE to work in parallel or they would be fighting one another. Hook both brass fittings to the pressure side and the plastic fitting on the canister to the return side. Only way it can work.