He gets it, I get it, most listers get it

3 Likes

I’ve been driving etypes for over 40 years and yes, I still think its special every time I take one for a drive. Jeff S. Atlanta, GA

…well come and get “it”! ( 3.8 OP Gunmetal FHC available in the Classified section).

Oh man, finally pulling the plug eh? It’s a great car. You should be proud of all the hard work!

1 Like

I’m 67 years old and have driven my early 1967 E-Type since May 1971 when I was 18 and my dad and I bought her as a shop project. I lust after no other car except the original late 1950s Ferrari 250 Testa Rossa. These two cars can be included any time in the same sentence, along with no others, IMHO.

2 Likes

“I’ve only driven a couple of classic cars”… end of any credibility for Scottish man.

Compared to a 2020 Toyota Blahwagon, of course they’re crap, and they always will be. No mod cons, no safety features, build quality of a non robot assembled, mass produced vehicle from 1960 will always be poor. James May is right ,as he invariably is.

But they are what they are, and that’s why we love them. It’s hard to start. It’s hard to get into. It smells of petrol and deafens you with wind noise. And don’t try to reverse park it.

But it’s an E type. I own 3 of them. No one pities me for that.

1 Like

I have never driven or ridden in a 3.8 but I have always been impressed with how easy to drive and comfortable my 4.2 is (except in the summer without AC). None of the harshness or poor handling you find in many 60’s-70’s cars. In that respect I think it compares quite well to much newer cars.

David
68 E-type FHC

Step out of a brand new performance car ( Porsche , Merc etc ) into an E and it will feel awful . That`s 60 years of progress .