Heater Blowers on 1991 XJ40

Hi reading about other chaps problems with heater blowers, I have similar problem with my right hand drive XJ40 in UK

Took drivers side motor out & put new Darlington unit in to solve same problem as others re fast blowers ok, but no low or medium speeds.

Sadly, not much difference! So still have fast & defrost speed blowers, but no lower speeds. Apart from, if I put it on MEDIUM speed, it blows for a couple of seconds, and stops. Any ideas folks?

Rgds

Neil

I’m no expert on this, do you have the wiring schematic for the system? there’s a heat sink for the blower motors and ambient sensor, if the medium speed works for a few secs/ then it’s losing power most likely - hopefully not due to an overheat problem, i can send you an schematic extract in colour if you want…tom

Ah thanks Tom that would be useful please.

Rgds

Neil

Neil,
schematic below should cover the info…Tom

Hi Tom and thank you for the diagram.
I cant see connections in diagram to blower rotary sw, or SLOW blower speed controlling item.
Would you advise please?
Rgds

Neil

Neil, I am out of my element here as my car is a '94MY but my understanding is the climate control system for the '91MY is similar to the '89MY. Here is a link to the electrical guide for the '89MY; Fig 28 is the c.c. system. Hope this helps.

1 Like

neil,
i can post the next system for the control unit, still a sealed unit but you could test using a multi meter, do you have the heating/cooling switch control assembly off? there’s 2 relays mounted behind that panel as well. the makers didn’t want to make it easy for us to fix like the old models.

N/U for brown with blue tracer, I get U for Ultramarine but N stands for ???

larry,
in all jaguar schematics N = brown … U = blue nothing fancy just blue, if any of the colours are a lighter colour it would be for eg: LU/ = light blue, very early jags used a dark green so it was a DG

1 Like