Hi I am new to the forum so forgive me if I get it wrong. BW8 auto problems

Forgive me if I go the wrong way about posting on here. Its my first time.
I am having problems with my borg warner type 8 gearbox on my Daimler DS420 Limousine. I know the same box is fitted to some e types so hopefully you can assist.
The box was removed to replace oil seal on pump behind the torque converter due to a massive leak. All sorted and now leak free. However the car changes from 1st to 2nd perfectly with hardly a trace however I am reaching 60+ mph at 2500rpm and it is not going to 3rd. It has the correct spec oil to the correct level. Only things I am unsure of and cannot find information on are kickdown cable settings and correct settings for brake band adjusting.
At present the cable on back of engine is pulled out at idle and pushes in with full throttle.
If anyone can assist with correct set up it would be greatly appreciated.
Kindest Regards Alex

2500RPM @ 60mph is actually quite low, and means you must be in 3rd

a BW8 will start in 2nd gear if D2 is engaged.

It will start in 1st if D1 or L is engaged

( so dont bother ever using D2)

What ratio diff do you have ?

This info is based upon 420G

To be honest I dont know?
All I know is that before the car changed up very smoothly all the way to 70mph with hardly any throttle and now after refitting the box the car seems to be running at far higher revs and it really does not feel right. Before when setting off in D it would change up at about 10 to 12mph and again at 30 to 40 with minimal throttle. Now its doing the first change as I would expect it to (smoother than before). But is not changing up after that. I dont know the exact speed I am doing as I am waiting for a new angle drive for speedo!!!
The way I understand the box is there are 2 break bands for 2 gears and top gear is achieved directly via the torque converter.