How do I: Edit a Post?

testing to see if i can delete this posting

Ok so I couldn’t delete this test post, in fact after following Andrew’s guide to Craig on this same subject, it didn’t even show this posting on the list that I could delete/change etc.

So I’ve still no idea on how to delete my posts.

Les,

My question to Andrew was related to messaging, not posting a thread. I’m certain that you can not delete a post on a thread. You might be able to do some “extreme editing”. I don’t know but worth a try maybe?

Because I’m an admin I may see different stuff.

Please click on the … at the bottom of the post. Here is what I see:

Do you see the garbage can?

I can imagine that there is a problem with deleting a post which some other user has since quoted. Although you own the original post, the quoter owns his, which just happens to have stuff in it which you created.

Tell me what you see please, and depending on what is there we can try an experiment.

I don’t get the garbage can or the wrench

ok this is weird, I just clicked on the … at the bottom of my reply to you and got the garbage can but no wrench…if i try that on an earlier post in this string, i don’t get the garbage can.

IIRC you have a grace period after creating a post during which you can delete, or edit the contents.

This makes sense, the platform is called “Discourse” for a reason. Imagine I say something in a post, and we two start a raging argument. If you get me into a corner and point out some fallacy in my original post, then if I could edit it forever, then I could go back and “Correct” my original post to defend against your objection.

Now, If I compose a stroppy response to you, and slip by one single adjacent key and type “wanker”, rather than “stanker”, then it’s only reasonable that I have a grace period to correct having claimed you are a stanker.

Makes sense to me.