How do I know if my car has SLS? What fluid?

I bought an '89 XJ40 Sovereign a couple months ago, and it went straight to storage. Upon taking it out, the power steering reservoir is very low, big puddle under the car. What fluid does this use? Will any ATF work? Thank you in advance for any assistance.

If the puddle is red then yes, if its green then no.

Im also new to this. So the powersteering reservoid also feeds the Self leveling suspension system?

If the car hasn’t been converted from SLS then from memory yes, @motorcarman should be able to confirm. Its been a long time since I was involved with owning a ‘40 and never one with SLS.

You will just have to ‘use-your-peepers’ to see if the hydraulic lines are connected.

The 3.6 liter cars use separate PAS and SLS/Power Brake pump systems.

The 4.0 cars used a SHARED PAS and SLS reservoir with HSMO.

If you delete the SLS on the 3.6, you still need the pump on the front of the engine to actuate the Power Assisted Brake assy.

There is a Jaguar Document for the POWER HYDRAULICS. S_73(too large to upload here)

66-22am Ride Leveling Struts Stay at Maximum Height.pdf (44.9 KB)

3-154 Ride Level Conversion.pdf (24.1 KB)
64-14 Delete rear self leveling.pdf (108.8 KB)

John …

'Your 1989 XJ40 power steering is a standard stand alone system. In other words it has nothing to do with the SLS system or anything else. . So you can just use any power steering fluid. As far as ATF there are several different types Dextron 2/3/4 so do your homework on that.

The SLS fluid is shared by both the self leveling system and the hydraulic brake booster. MANY people have converted their XJ40’s to standard rear shock absorbers and the very common vacuum brake booster system. This eliminates a lot of leaks and a big box full of now unnecessary hardware.