If its not one thing, its another

I’ve been working on the 69 S2 FHC for eight months getting ready for my local Jag Concours (today). I had hoped to be done a week ago so that I could drive it multiple times to work out any bugs. But, as it turned out last night at 11pm I had to call it as done as it could be for today. Here are a few things that had to be abandoned and not completed.

1. I could not get the speakers to work in the radio bracket and in the end mounted the bracket with the exterior speaker rings and mesh, but no radio or speakers. The new speakers purchased from Moss are too thick and touch the tunnel and won’t allow the bracket to sit back properly…to be resolved in due time.

2. The chrome strip and clips for the door sills are damn near impossible to get placed. Any helpful tips would be appreciated.

A fellow Jag-Lover forum member and soon to be new Texan @DonJ arrived in Texas just a few days ago and spent Friday afternoon assisting me in getting both door cards installed. Without his help and additional two hands I am certain they would not have been installed. Thanks Don!!

But as Rosanne Rosanadana used to say on Saturday Night Live back in the 1970’s “If its not one thing its another”. After arriving at the Concours today, it was determined during the Operational Verification step that my license plate light was not working. Using my 15 minutes, I opened it up, checked the new LED bulbs (it was working a week ago) and then checked all the fuses. While checking the fuses, I noted that the map light wasn’t on despite the drivers door being open. I was unable to get the license plate light working and took my 1 point deduction.

Then as I was driving home, I further noted that the interior light (in the luggage area) would not light up when I toggled the switch. Then a few seconds later I noticed that the fuel gauge and the water temp gauge were not registering anything. The oil pressure and battery gauge were working fine.