I'm new to the New XK

I just wanted to introduce myself. My name is Mike Eck and I have been a contributor to Jag-Lovers starting when it was one list. I have an XK120, a MK2 and an E-Type, but I’ve never owned anything that was manufactured in the current century. The older cars are easy to fix by anyone who understands engines and electricity, but problems aren’t as straight-forward when you throw computers and sensors into the mix.

My wife and I just got back from the British Invasion car show in Vermont where an XK8 caught her eye. We’re considering a 2005 convertible with 100K miles, but I have no experience with these new cars. Are there any red flags that I should be aware of before purchasing?

1 Like

With the 05 you don’t have the problem with the earlier 4.0 engine and the plastic parts. The early AJ8 engine had a plastic thermostat housing, a plastic water pump impeller and (most seriously) plastic timing chain tensioner guides, which all had to be replaced.

Hi Mike,

By 2005 most of the bugs were sorted and the 4.2 litre engine has many improvements over the original 4.0litre which, in itself, in AJ26 or AJ27 form is a very sweet engine provided that the items that Grahame mentioned are dealt with.

In the UK, corrosion is the big problem. So, inspect floor pans, areas around the suspension mountings front and rear, sills, wheel arches etc. Speaking of suspension, the front seems to be prone to the upper and lower fulcrum bushes seizing on their respective bolts. Check for any creaks or stiffness in the suspension.

Likewise, operate the convertible top. It should complete and open or a close cycle in about 20 to 25 seconds with the engine running. Also, look for any drips of hydraulic fluid around the left hand side of the header close to the hydraulic latch.

Transmissions are allegedly sealed for life but all the advice is to get the fluid and filter changed every 50k miles.