Is it OK to use synthetic oil?

Hi all

I’m new to JL and wanted to introduce myself, though I’ve already sneaked in a couple of questions in on this site … ( thanks for your answers btw … I already crossed a vital hurdle by inserting a length of coaxial ignition wire )

I live in in southern Cal and own two XJS 5.3 HE’s … both 1985. I bought the first ( white one in pic ) in 2000, and at the time I didn’t really know too much about Jaguar V12. I was a lamb to the slaughter really; From the moment I saw the car I was totally sucked in by the fine lines and aesthetics of the low profile body. I was sold from the start and my questions were like afterthoughts. As I was about to tell the previous owner I’d buy it he seemed to hesitate like there was something I should know “errrmm … I thhh-ink it might have been boiled over, " he said … " that’s right I remember now … it WAS boiled.” I didn’t think much about it really … I had owned cars that boiled over before.

The transaction was quickly done. little did I know what I was in for, but to quickly summarize I bought my second XJS in 2003 because the first had a warped head and ended up parked in the garage ( for 8 yrs ) with a couple of blown pistons and jammed rods. The engine wouldn’t wheel over without causing the whole car to rock, which gave me a feeling of bad karma. I also knew the cam shaft was probably be thrown out of true … this plus one of the catalytic converters had sprayed out of the exhaust along with a shower of molten piston beads … oil also poured out of the left air filter cover …I knew it was a mammoth job.