Is this head scrap?

Greetings, long time lurker, first time poster.

I’m rebuilding the 4.2L six in my E-type, and I have gotten to cleaning up the head. I’ve already determined that it needs new valves and guides, but upon closer inspection I see that the #3 exhaust port looks like the surface of the moon, and also there’s lots of pitting in between the valves. I thought maybe the port was just full of carbon, but probing it with a pick reveals it is in fact the aluminum. The rest of the cylinders and their ports look nice and smooth.

Note as a newbie I can only post one picture so I attached the best shot I could get with the neighboring cylinder for context.

Should I continue and just clean up the port once I punch out the guides or go look for another head? I’m definitely in the stubborn “I’ll repair it if at all possible” camp when it comes to these things. Not opposed to putting in a stupid amount of labor to salvage it.

Also, if I salvage this head do I need to weld up the coolant openings to get a decent seal? You can see the typical amount of corrosion present.

Thanks for any advice!!

IMG_2299|628x500

Tig welding is possible. Whether this is so bad that it needs it should be determined by a pro in person.

I’ve seen far worse, repaired and reused.

What needs to be determined, by a trained eye and a borescope, is to what extent the inner passages are corroded.

There appears to be steam erosion, around that one exhaust seat: again, repairable, but it may be costly.

Is this rare head?

Is that a crack at the top of the photo going from the combustion chamber to the coolant hole?

I don’t like the look of the area between the valve seats.

As Paul says though, get an expert to look at it.

If this isn’t a matching numbers head for your car you might consider just buying a better one…

1 Like