Just saved a 1978 xj6l from going to scrap

Uploading: 20191203_150847.jpg… Uploading: 20191203_150836.jpg…
I bought it for $150.00usd im told it ran and drove 3 or 4 years ago. I am a mechanic but I have zero experience with a real jag. I am here looking to glean any wisdom I can from more experienced folks. My goal is a complete restoration, NOT mod. It aperas to be complete other than the hood ornament and keys. I have a title, a shop, time and $$$. I will need a good service manual and a line on oem parts. Any guidance would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Welcome on board, Anthony!

Source a relevant Jaguar workshop manual, and the parts catalogue - as a first step. The rest is plain sailing; the Jaguar respond very well to professional as well as DIY care - the specifics are found in the manuals…

Just assess, as you would with any car, where you want to start - and ask away…:slight_smile:

Frank
xj6 85 Sov Europe (UK/NZ)

Hi Anthony,
you hit enter before the pictures uploaded. If you know your way around cars you’ll be fine. The XK-engine is almost indestructible and easy to work on for the most part (the head studs can snap, they corrode inside the water jacket down low). If you put it on a lift for longer watch out for delaminating rubber, especially at the IRS that is said to come down after some time, worst case scenario.
The green workshop manual is very good and worth the money. Watch for rust at all the jacking points, window surrounds and the usual places.
Good luck! Enjoy it.
David

Well done. The Series 2 cars (except the coupes) don’t seem to get as much love as the S1 and S3 cars. I think they are the best looking body myself and am a fellow 1978 XJ6L owner (yes, I am biased). As others said, get a copy of the Repair Operations Manual and the Parts book - its exploded diagrams are a great help.