LED lights upgrade

Hello All,

At the risk if upsetting some of you guys,
I just wanted to know if anyone has upgraded the headlamps and rear light to LED. What did you use and was it hard?..i am a novice here…

Thanks for your time in advance.

Haroon

A number have: I know @John_Walker has done the taillights.

No offense! Anything to help seeing and being seen, especially with covered headlights, is a good upgrade!

1 Like

The only incandescent bulbs left on my car are the license plate ind instrument bulbs, everyrthing else is LED. Total amp draw of the lights with the headlights on high beam is about 6 amps @ 13.8 V.

IMO, yes it’s worth it. The LED’s are brighter, last longer and when current is applied to them they are at full intensity instantly, that last feature means your brake light come on just a few milliseconds quicker and brighter which might mean the difference between a hit and near miss.

Two potential problems:

1. Finding the proper turn signal flasher for the LED turn signal bulbs. They don’t draw enough current to activate a conventional flasher and many of the electronic flashers won’t work on the E-type without a bit of rewiring the flasher socket.

2. the LED bulbs stick out of the back of the headlight housings and may not fit a Series I bonnet. No problem on a Series 1-1/2, 2 and 3.

1 Like

Hi Haroon,
I upgraded the tail lights on my Series 1.5 with the LED offering from Classic Auto LEDs several years back and it was very straight forward.
http://classicautoleds.com/JAG_XKES1.html
Remove the lens, bulb mountings and attach the leads from the LED ‘plate’ (it fits under the lens and is made up of multiple LEDs attached to a board) replace the lens cover and your done. You will need a modern flasher that works with LEDs though.
The difference is amazing as they are incredibly bright.
I’m still waiting on the LED headlights although some recent posts have suggested that they are improving and coming down in price.
Cheers,
LLynn NAYYY