Looking at a 140 soon, what should I know?

Looking at a 140 soon, what should I know?

I know, it’s bottomless pit of a question. I still own my second E-Type, I’ve restored 2 MGAs, A TD and a TC/Q Special so I’m familiar with British cars and can fight my way through a basic inspection.

I need to know what to look for that will be a trouble spot typical to a 140 roadster. Such as:

Typical spots on the body and frame that perforate first,
Are there places were wood should be used but might be missing b/c of rot,
Brake and running gear changes and upgrades such as modern parts subbing for authentic.

I’ve got a coffee table book or two for general info. Is there a “Buyer’s Guide” that I might go to?

Thanks

I am no expert, but I know the weak points of my 140 restoration project. My car is looks relatively rust free, but there was still rust lurking behind the B-posts, the sills, and particularly the channel beam structures on either side of the dash assembly. The bottom part of these was actually missing so I did not catch it until I looked for it specifically. See how the doors shut. The hinges wear and are a beast to get to. The structure of these cars is very similar to your MGAs so you will be familiar with the details. The battery box is probably shot unless it has been replaced. Personally, I wish the battery was in the trunk or somewhere not exposed to the triple whammy of mud, salt and battery acid. There is a lot of chrome on these cars so its condition, and repair of the underlying parts can add up quickly. I would check for completeness. Replacing parts is generally more expensive than rebuilding and some parts are not available, or if they are, the price will make you wish they were not. I would not sweat the items you will probably replace or upgrade anyway like brakes, suspension bushings, and shocks, but if brake parts are missing that would be a problem. My OTS does not have any wood except the frame of the trunk lid. It will not be visible unles