Looking at an '84 XJS (XJ-S?) tomorrow

Hi! I’m new to the “Jag-yoo-er” forum & world but I’ve wanted one of these since I first laid eyes on one as a teen in the early 80s. I have 2 pretty good everyday vehicles (95 Jeep Liberty & Chrysler Crossfire) so this Jag would be just…I don’t know, something I think I’d like to restore/spend zillions on for the next few decades. I know they can be money pits but still…I have always wanted one.

I’m just jumping into the rabbit hole tonight before checking it out tomorrow. It’s drivable, don’t know the details on brakes, engine, etc—probably that it might not be best to drive it until it’s fully checked out, etc. It does have a new battery.

I’m pretty sure it’s an '84, anyway. Trying to figure out how to attach the photo(s) now…

you did notice the rust, and the passenger side has been repainted take a magnet with you to see how much filler is in the panels.

What’s the sale price?

IMHO, the important thing is to check for body rust. That stuff is expensive and demoralizing to have to fix. You can plan on having to do some engine work.

I’d also recommend replacing those wire wheels with some 16" or 17" alloy wheels. It’s difficult and expensive to get V-rated tires in 15" any more, and sometimes wire wheels require the use of inner tubes which negate the V rating anyway.

1 Like

I did notice the rust but I did not get down to look really close. Guess I’m scared of what I’ll see. LOL As a teenager I inherited a beat-up 67 Mustang—the front floorboards were completely rusted out (great gaping holes where feet sit)—so when I think “rust” my brain goes to that horrifying visual. (I drove that Mustang everywhere anyway. My friends were all used to keeping feet on the edges & were resigned to gravel dust coating us. At that time, Illinois was a maze of gravel roads & paved interstates. Probably still is—I moved away.)

He wants what he gave the 88-yr-old gentleman: $4,500