Looking at them...what to look for in a XJ8

Hi all.
Years ago I had a 1992 XJ. I owned it for two years, never had a problem and loved it.
Now I am looking at XJ8s. It looks like most have the 4.2 V8. Im familar with the old 6 cylinder, but not the newer models.
I found one I want to look at and it has 118k miles and the owner says everything works.
Could you please help me with advice about what to look for? Like common issues/problems to look for when test driving.
Also how reliable are these? Does the AC go out at a certain mileage? Do they have major flaws in the engine ie. bad lifters/ticks, cams that wear out quickly? etc.
Id really like to get back into on and I am not afraid to wrench it (I was a Ford tech from 1990-1993.)
Any advice is greatly appreciated! Thanks!

The XJ8 had 2 or 3 flavours.

The Steel body classic lines with 4.0 engines (also 3.2 outside of US) known as x308
The aluminium body which is larger (with different sized headlights) and 4.2 (and smaller engines). Known as X350

Cam chain tensioners should be listened for on cold start. Particularly the 4.0 which should be replaced.

Aluminium ones have air suspension. Compressors require overhall
There was also a facelift version with bigger bumpers. x358 Though I prefer the non facelift.

supercharged models available which really fly at super car speeds. And insignificant disadvantages.
LWB models also available

they aren’t all like this top spec model

The following appies to the 4.0 X308. I have an '02 XJR.

Prices for the supercharged XJR are beginning to climb. NA cars are stagnant.

Cam chain tensioners on the 4.0 were changed (at the factory) from plastic to metal around September 2002 production. Check for the serial number. (I don’t have it handy). Most plastic versions have been changed to metal over the years.

The ZF transmissions in the non-supercharged X308 cars tended to be failure prone. A five speed Mercedes box was used in the supercharged XJR…relatively bulletproof.