Looking for opinions

Ok so im looking at buying a second Jag and its a 1997 XK8 coupe with about 100k miles on it for the grand price of $2850! Yes it looks great, green with tan interior. The trans was replaced 30k miles ago, and all the timing parts and water pump were upgraded by the previous previous owner. The downfall is that it has a reconstructed title due to the previous previous owner hitting a deer. It was bought back, and rebuilt. I think it sounds good, but want to see what others think

Will this “re-constructed title” allow you to register the vehicle in your name and drive it on the street without restriction? If so, go for it.
Phillip

Yes it basically is just on the title that its “reconstructed”. It hurts the resale value, but i dont think it’d be hard to resell at that price if i decided to

Just make sure that you can liability insurance coverage. I’ve heard (though I have no personal experience) that this may be an issue.

Each Country or State has it’s own laws regarding SALVAGE TITLES.

I have a 2001 XJ8 with a salvage title and I have FULL COVERAGE (fire, theft, collision).

Once the car has been ‘repaired/rebuilt’ and inspected for proper repair, here in Texas USA there is no problem with anything EXCEPT resale value.

Many times a car is declared a ‘total-loss’ due to the cost of repairs in relation to the value.

A rule of thumb is that if the cost nears 80% of the value, it is ‘written-off’ by the insurance company.
If the car was repaired properly, you have a good value if the price is right.

bob

Yeah I had, until my accident, a 2005 Kawasaki zzr1200 thay had an r-tltle and I had full coverage no problems.